Home Pittsburgh Sports Steelers Jerome Bettis elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Jerome Bettis elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

The Bus is headed to Canton.

Former Pittsburgh Steelers running Jerome Bettis has been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Bettis, a finalist for the fifth time, was a burly running back nicknamed The Bus who began a 13-season career by earning Rookie of the Year honors for the Rams. He capped it by winning the 2006 Super Bowl with the Steelers in a game played in his hometown of Detroit.

His 13,662 yards rushing rank fifth in history and he had eight seasons of at least 1,000.

Bettis played in six Pro Bowls and was named First Team All-Pro in 1993 with the Rams and in 1996 with the Steelers. He finished second in the NFL in rushing yards in 1993 with 1,429 and third in 1996 with 1,431.

He joins fellow inductees Junior Seau, Tim Brown, Charles Haley and Will Shields. The class of 2015 also includes a pair of contributors, Bill Polian and Ron Wolf, along with senior selection Mick Tingelhoff.

“I have never seen a power back who was as light on his feet as Jerome was,” said Bill Cowher, who coached Bettis with the Steelers.

Bettis became the fourth Steelers’ running back in the Hall of Fame joining Bill Dudley, John Henry Johnson and Franco Harris.

He led the Steelers in rushing from 1996-2001 and in 2003-04, finishing his stories career with 50 100-yard games as a member of the Steelers.

Five nominees were eliminated in the final vote: Tony Dungy, Kevin Greene, Marvin Harrison, Orlando Pace and Kurt Warner.

Earlier Saturday, the selection committee reduced the list of 15 modern-day finalists by cutting Morten Andersen, Terrell Davis, John Lynch and coaches Don Coryell and Jimmy Johnson.

A candidate needs 80 percent of the vote from 46 media members to get in.

The induction ceremony is in August at Canton, Ohio.

Previous articleDespres OT goal lifts Penguins over Devils
Next articleLate interception clinches Super Bowl for New England